It’s 19° F Outside. Don’t WANNA Go to Work.

I am fully prepared to admit that, being born and raised in Central California, I am somewhat spoiled when it comes to road conditions and weather. It rarely gets below freezing in the SF Bay area, and snow is something on the hills that you look at and say “ooo, how pretty.” This is my first winter in Dallas.

So. That said….I have just one question: How in hell do people here get anything done in the winter?! I mean, really! It is 19° outside, there is ice on EVERYTHING, the schools are closed, none of the businesses are opening til around 10am because of the ice storm last night…I’m sitting here with a mug of hot chocolate watching the news, and the idiots who ARE out on the road are only going about 30mph because of the half inch of ice on the roads.

I don’ get it. There have been more than 40 accidents since 5am. Every local station is advising that if it’s at all possible, people should remain home and wait for the ice to melt. The darling man, of course, is having none of it. “They always say that,” he shrugs as he bundles into his coat. “But…there have been a ton of accidents!” “I’ll be fine. The problem is other drivers, not me.” “Okay, did you actually hear what you just said?” He went anyway, of course. I told him he’d need a crowbar to get my ass out from under the electric blanket. He called me about five minutes ago. “Guess who made it to work alive and well?” “Great. And I was going to buy a Jag with the life insurance.” “You think we have life insurance?” Idiot. At least I know what to do in this kind of weather. I’m getting some more marshmallows for my hot chocolate and going back to bed with my book.

2 responses to “It’s 19° F Outside. Don’t WANNA Go to Work.

  1. I thought you were on the east coast. Dallas, eh? I guess for Texas that’s cold. Last year on Jan 28, I had to work outside in -22 F for six hours when I recieved a page to work in a protected environment. A little late! Spent the next day filing papers to make up for it.

  2. Get yourself a pair or two of either polyprolene or silk long johns (medium weight) should suffice. Also dress in layers so you can easily adjust your clothes to regulate body moisture and temperature. Three types of layers are considered normal : a liner layer against your skin (longjohns), an insulation layer (fleece), and a water- and wind-proof outer shell.

    In the winter, COTTON KILLS. Cotton loses its insulating qualities when it gets wet, whether from rain or sweat. Cotton also takes a long time to dry out. Wool or synthetic materials are much better suited to winter camping in cold weather conditions.

    I’ve gone winter camping and follow the above instructions and do not get cold. One thing do not over dress as it will cause you to sweat and then get cold. As a general rule dress to be comfortably cool.

    A little late for this year but you can be prepared for next winter.

Leave a Reply

