First: Do No Harm. Unless You Disagree With Their Morals.

On December 19th, the Bush administration very quietly approved provisions to put the final nail in the coffin of American healthcare. Effective Jan 19th (one day, you will note, before President-elect Obama takes office), all entities tied to healthcare…including insurance companies…will be able to deny care or coverage for any service they feel disagrees with their moral code.

As a woman, I am furious. How dare you, Mr. Bush, tell any insurance company or doctor that I may not obtain reproductive health without risking my life? As a bisexual woman, I am seething. How dare you open the door to anyone to question me on my sexuality and deny me care because they don’t approve? As a nurse, I am so livid I am nearly speechless. We do not question the morality of our patients. It is not for us to judge. If someone comes to me because they are injured, in pain, or just have questions, I am here to do my best to help them. Their personal life is not for ME to judge. How dare ANYONE decide such a thing?

So now I can deny care based on my moral outrage? Fine. How would it be, then, if I, as an atheist, were to refuse care to fundamentalist Christians because I morally disagree with their warped perceptions of reality? How would it be if I were to refuse care to some redneck idiot who had broken his neck on his motorcycle because I’m morally opposed to treating morons who refuse to wear a helmet? How would it be were I to refuse to assist in delivering a baby because I think the world is overpopulated enough and it’s against my ethics?

Mr. Bush, you do not know the damage you have done. You think you are merely putting down rights for gays and women. I assure you, sir, you have no idea the death blow you have dealt my profession. I am saddened. But more, I am enraged that anyone would dare do such a thing as risk the lives of the people of this country all so that a few backward, self righteous, judgmental overbearing jerks can look down their noses and deny care to people they consider inferior to themselves.

I am sickened by the very thought of what this will do to a profession of which I have always been proud to be a part. There are simply no words for how disgusted I am by this ruling.

3 responses to “First: Do No Harm. Unless You Disagree With Their Morals.

  1. The most apt epitaph for the Bush Presidency came from his own mouth.

    Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people and neither do we.

  2. Please be assured that there are many Christians, even fairly fundamentalist evangelical ones like me, who share your outrage. (But I think the words fundamentalist evangelical carry a different meaning here in the UK)

  3. Pavlov’s Cat: Thanks for the reply. I’ve never been able to smile at that particular blurt by the first chimp; they’ve always seemed more a statement of fact than blunder.

    topwaterlimited: Thanks. The term does indeed carry a different connotation here (for a start, I’m moderately certain you don’t think Jesus guaranteed your right to carry a gun), but the shared outrage is appreciated. Unfortunately, this particular legislation was egged on by a particular group of fundamentalist Christians: The Family Research Council. The mildest term I can use to describe them is a bunch of self righteous bloody minded busy bodies who aren’t happy unless they get to tell everyone else how to live. But I may be being unfair in that assessment. 😛 Anyway, thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

