Madonna: What to Get the Woman Who Has Everything?

Why not a child from a third world country?  Latest dish is that Madonna and her man of the month Alex Rodriguez will be flying to Malawi to adopt a 4 year old girl whose mother died after giving birth.

I’m torn. On the one hand, this child will likely receive advantages to which she never would have had access in Malawi…and that’s very good, indeed. Hopefully she’ll grow to be as much of a philanthropist as her future mum. On the other hand…it chills me no end that this woman treats children like fashion accessories. New man? Need a new kid… Angelina Jolie adopted another one? Better snag a cuter one fast. World tour? Round it off with an adoption and a photo op. And how much time does she spend with each of these kids? Does she actually do any, you know, MOTHERING? Or are they shuffled off to nannies while she jets around the world?

Am I angry? Well…maybe. I take my role as mom very seriously. I spend time going to band practices, recitals, helping with projects and homework, taking the kids to movies and museums…and of course dinner every night…all because I know damn well that this is temporary, this motherhood thing..that they’re going to leave soon enough and each second I get with them is important. So, yes. To see someone like Madonna so flippantly adopting here and there as if it’s nothing more than a trip to the mall gets on my mom nerve. It’s great that she wants to make a difference in the life of a child, and for that I applaud her. But I still question just how altruistic her motives really are, and who will really be raising that little girl.

Leave a Reply

