Elitist!! or: I LIKE that Obama’s Smart

Look out, it’s the Kerry Catch Phrase, wielded by a terrified neocon near you. But this time…it doesn’t seem to have the sticking power it did when John Kerry was the Dem candidate.

Maybe it’s because it’s hard to pin that tag on a man who owns one house while attempting to support a man who admits he doesn’t know how many he owns. Maybe it’s because it doesn’t seem to fit a guy who worked his way up from blue collar roots through school on a scholarship and succeeding beyond all expectations, just like every “pull yerself up by your bootstraps” conservative says people SHOULD do. Or just maybe people are finally recognizing that “a guy you can have a beer with” doesn’t necessarily know a whole hell of a lot about foreign policy. Or the economy. Or infrastructure. Or governing wisely. Maybe it’s finally sinking through that what you need in that particular case is someone who is known more for his academic accomplishments than for his father getting him into Harvard after squeaking through Yale with a C average. Who knows?

If it makes me elitist that I want a president who won’t make me cringe with anticipatory embarrassment every time he opens his mouth to a foreign dignitary…so be it. If it makes me elitist that I want a president who knows more about the economy than I do, I’ll happily take that label. And if it makes me elitist that I care more about whether or not a candidate is in the deep pockets of more lobbyists in Washington than Rick Santorum instead of what his religions really is? Then guilty as charged. I’m elitist. When it comes to my country, you bet I’m elitist. Because I think my country deserves better than “regular people” in the driver’s seat. I think my country deserves the best. Isn’t that what we’re constantly saying we are? Put up or shutup.

Leave a Reply

