Waiting on Ike

As a new Dallas resident, Ike is my first hurricane.

The darling man has reassured me that, as we’re to the west of the trajectory, we shouldn’t have to worry about much more than heavy rain and some lightning; the majority of the tornadoes centering to the east of the storm.

This is rather a new experience for me; I’m from San Francisco. When the earth gets pissed off there, it moves a few feet north or south, it’s over in 12 seconds or so, and then we clean up any glass shards. I’m not used to sitting around waiting to see what happens. That’s the major difference, I think, between then and now. You don’t anticipate earthquakes. They pretty much happen whenever pressure decides it’s time to happen, and your warning is the slight nauseous feeling that hits about two seconds before the first roll of the earth. Then it’s find a doorway if you’re close enough, or just relax and let it pass if it’s small enough (to a jaded Barbary Coast girl like me, anything less than a 5 isn’t even worth pulling off the road for).

I’ve tried not to act anxiously, but I cannot close the tab I’ve had opened at accuweather.com for the past hour. I’m not sure “knowing it’s coming” is all it’s cracked up to be.

I am interested in finding out if people react to hurricane threats the way they react to “possible earthquake activity” warnings in California. Water, toilet paper, candles and batteries seem to magically disappear from stores.

Thus far, the video and pictures from Galveston are not comforting. Many who should have fled did not, and will now require rescue. The projected numbers from authorities in four coastal counties put the estimate at 140,000. I can only hope for the sake of their families that they’re still alive and well, but much like landslide & flood victims, I have never been able to fathom why anyone would stay in the path of such destruction.

I had been hoping to be on a  plane this morning; obviously that isn’t happening anytime soon. Later I’ll round up the fam and head out to Costco to see if we can’t whip up some appropriate hysteria. In the mean time, I’ll stick to accuweather, hitting refresh and thinking for the thousandth time about how much better I had it with earthquakes. At least the bed shook in the middle of the night occasionally.

Leave a Reply

