Exit Stage Left

George Carlin once said:

“”The very existence of flamethrowers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, “You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I’m just not close enough to get the job done.”

As a self-professed flame thrower, I can quite honestly say, George, you got it in one. You set my mind on fire with your insistent questions and passionate assertions, and even helped me question my own beliefs.

Hearing this morning that another of my heroes had died made me feel just a little lost. Like Hunter S Thompson, George Carlin challenged people. To participate. To not just be a passenger. Above all, to think and to speak out. And although there will be others who will fill the void…they won’t have George’s style or wit or amused outrage at the circus around him.

Leave a Reply

